iggy azalea photos
Iggy Azalea is sexy (46 pics)

Don’t Worry, Gabriel Gonzaga’s Camp Is Appealing Loss to Travis Browne

UFC 142 Gabriel Gonzaga
(Eh…Overeem did it better.)

Judging by the comments section on ourĀ TUF 17 Finale Aftermath, the majority of you felt that Travis Browne’s victory over Gabriel Gonzaga should have an asterisk next to it. Early in the fight, Gonzaga pressed Browne against the cage looking for a takedown. Browne unleashed a series of elbows to Gonzaga’s head that knocked him out just one minute and eleven seconds into the first round and earned Browne the Knockout of the Night bonus. However, as many fans have pointed out, it appeared that the elbows that ended the fight hit Gabriel Gonzaga directly in the back of the head.

Shortly after the fight, Gabriel Gonzaga’s manager, Marco Alvan, took to his Facebook page to inform fans that he would be appealing the outcome. Via Facebook:

Guys Gabriel Gonzaga is ok, thanks for the messages.
I need to review it to count how many illegal elbows but Its a fact that it was illegal.
I contacted Keith Kizer head of Nevada Athletic Comission and he told me to file a complaint and he would review it.
I true believe it was illegal. I never complaint about a losses who knows me know that I handle it good but illegal we can not accept.

In a follow-up post, Alvan also expressed his interest in setting up a rematch against Travis Browne:

This video is clear about the elbow [Author Note: This appears to be a video of the fourth and fifth elbows landed].
I very hope the commission look it carefully and make a correct decision about it. We respect Travis and his camp but it was a sad night. We hope this result can be fixed and get a new fight between them.
I don’t know who post it but thanks to clarify for all of us!

If you watch the ending again, you’ll see that the first two elbows landed cleanly to the side of Gonzaga’s head. The elbow that put Gonzaga out was possibly illegal, and the last three elbows clearly hit the back of the head. However, since Gonzaga was already out when they landed, they didn’t potentially affect the outcome of the fight. The NSAC’s ruling on the third elbow will more than likely decide the outcome of this case.

In the meantime, what do you think happened? Should Gonzaga get a rematch against Browne, or was he already out by the time he was hit in the back of the head?

@SethFalvo

Cagepotato Comments

Showing 1-25 of comments

comments
Sort by : Show hidden comments
Lex Talionis- April 16, 2013 at 4:49 pm
Shifty and ripyourhead off pretty much hit the nail on the head. Also that shit wasn't kotn either way. Who got excited when travis brown 12-6 bowed gonzaga in the back of the head front of the head side of the head who gives a fuck? Ok now who jumped out of their seat when zingano kneed Tates face into next week? Moral of the story, sucks for gonzaga but really in the grand scheme of the HW division WTF difference does it make.
Pen Fifteen- April 16, 2013 at 6:20 am
BigDaddy
You say "if you watch closely" as if no one else has bothered to watch closely but you. Just because you aren't seeing #3 as illegal isn't the be-all end-all of this case. Even assuming #3 wasn't illegal (I'm quite certain it was), the ref hadn't stopped the fight at that point.

And once again, intention means fuck-all when determining a foul. For example, if a fighter throws a knee when his opponent is on 2 feet, and the knee lands after one hand goes down, that is still an illegal knee. Likewise, it wouldn't matter if meant to knee a guy in the inner thigh but hit his balls (see: every Cheick Kongo fight). It's you're responsibility to make sure you don't foul your opponent, especially when striking so close to a sensitive area.
BigDaddyD- April 16, 2013 at 10:27 am
Either A, you guys are blind or B, I have the greatest eye sight in the entire world. I think both A and B are correct.

I also believe the "I have one hand on the ground don't knee me bro" is a stupid rule. If your opponent has both knees on the ground, I'm OK with calling that an illegal knee.

Actually it is the be-all-end-all, because I just closed the case, scrambled the lock, put it at the top of my closet and forgot it was there only to find it many years later after not giving a fuck.
Fried Taco- April 16, 2013 at 5:40 am
I agree with halfbreed23, if it were Jon Jones elbowing Matt Hamill, the outcome would have been different.
halfbreed23- April 16, 2013 at 5:04 am
In these situations I always like to imagine different fighters in the same situation. If this were say, Nick Diaz elbowing GSP in the back of the head I'm certain the outcome and outrage would be totally different. I know that snarky, bald prick Dana would have a different take.
BigDaddyD- April 16, 2013 at 3:10 am
If you closely watch the slow motion replay you will see that only elbow number 4 could be considered illegal, but it was only illegal due to that fact that Gonzaga was falling and his head was turning. This elbow could not have been stopped as Gonzaga's head was turning when the elbow was already in motion. He will lose this when they review it further. He was out after the first 3 elbows which were completely legal. 4 and 5 just put him further into a dream state where he dreamed about his ancient ape ancestors.
halfbreed23- April 16, 2013 at 4:39 am
Last 3 were illegal. I think you know this but wanted a set up for that horrible punchline.
BigDaddyD- April 16, 2013 at 10:22 am
actually that horrible punchline didn't come to me until the end of what I had to say. U mad bro? no half breeds allowed in my world. I'm an elitist.
Pen Fifteen- April 15, 2013 at 9:54 pm
The English Language def. Marco Alvan via submission (R1).
Daddy_jeffy- April 15, 2013 at 8:32 pm
If I were Gonzaga, I would tell my manager to quit making waves before I had to get back in the cage with that animal.
ripyourfuckingheadoff- April 15, 2013 at 6:13 pm
isn't there some ridiculous rule about elbows from 12-6?
SnakeJake- April 16, 2013 at 7:08 am
Yes. But apparently the rule only applies to elbows thrown from the direction of the ceiling to the direction of the floor. So if you turn your opponent sideways a little (like Anderson Silva did with Travis Lutter) the rule doesn't mean shit anymore. It might be the most ridiculous rule in MMA.
Shifty-Eyed Dog- April 15, 2013 at 6:08 pm
Even if he was out with elbow #3, the fight had not been stopped yet. So if 4 & 5 were illegal, then they ae subject to review and discipline and the outcome is subject to reversal.
halfbreed23- April 16, 2013 at 4:45 am
People putting thumbs down on your rational truths shows what we are dealing with in this retarded idiocracy.
CWill859- April 15, 2013 at 5:35 pm
While I acknowledge that elbows 4-5 were most likely illegal, I'm not sold on Gonzaga's case here. It appears that end begins between hellbows 2 and 3. I'm just not sure that it gets overturned. Browne got KOTN, so what does that say if in fact it is changed to a NC? It's an unfortunate ending, but I think Gabe just needs to take his lumps and move on.
halfbreed23- April 16, 2013 at 4:50 am
The 50K is Dana saying he could give a shit about the illegal blows and that he is sweeping it under the rug.
5knuckleshuffle- April 15, 2013 at 5:28 pm
It's highly possible Browne thought the last few elbows were to Gonzaga's back since it has the same hair density.
CagePotatoMMA