(Props: MMA Fanhouse)
Remember that big kickboxing card in Jamaica that we alerted you to on Friday? Well, it happened, but not without some controversy. In a much-anticipated (at least among kickboxing fans) bout, Nathan Corbett dropped Nathan Spong with a sweet little right hook. Though Spong managed to get up, the ref took a long look at him and decided he was done.
Here’s where it gets tricky, though. The referee, as you see in the replay from the above video, steps back as if to recommence the fight, but instead he waves it off. That’s when Corbett charges in to finish Spong off before the ref can stop him. Seems like a miscommunication, right? Only because of this miscommunication the result of the bout is changed to a ‘No Contest,’ which we learn when Cedric the Entertainer (seriously) gets on the mic.
Announcers Michael “The Voice” Schiavello and Larry Bird look-alike Mark "The Hammer" Castagnini clearly see it differently, with Schiavello expressing some measure of outrage at Corbett’s actions and Castagnini defending them from the fighter’s perspective.
Personally, I’m inclined to side with the misunderstanding camp. The ref’s movements are somewhat ambiguous, and there’s really no reason to think that a man who just found out he won the fight would come on to continue the assault instead of celebrating his victory.
But that’s all beside the point, because even if you believe that it was an unsportsmanlike attack by Corbett, it still happened after the fight had been stopped. As soon as that happened, Corbett was the winner. If he did something wrong after that point you can fine him or strip him of the title or ban him altogether if you want, but you can’t take away his victory. It’s nonsensical. Even “The Voice” knows that. Too bad Ceddy Bear is content to urge a rematch for no good reason.