infomercial fail gifs
21 Humans Who Make Being Human Look Really, Really Hard

Referee Kim Winslow Responds to Miesha Tate’s Early Stoppage Complaints


(If you’re short on time, this image sums everything up pretty well.)

To say that Miesha Tate has been unhappy with the outcome of her Fight of the Night earning scrap against Cat Zingano during the TUF 17 Finale is putting things mildly. Despite controlling the first two rounds of the fight, Tate was eventually knocked out in the third round by Zingano. Tate immediately expressed that she felt that referee Kim Winslow stopped the fight early, but with Cat Zingano being sort-of busy for the time being, an immediate rematch has pretty much been out of the question.

That hasn’t exactly stopped Tate from trying. Yesterday, Tate posted a picture of herself in order to further demonstrate why she felt that the fight was stopped early, claiming that she wants a rematch against Zingano with a different referee overseeing the bout. Via Facebook:

“Post fight pic taken Monday, you all are wondering about my nose, its fine still a little swollen but im going to get the suspension lifted ASAP, and I will be back! Cant help my nose bleeds a lot still frustrated at the stoppage, think the ref freaked because of blood when she should have been focusing on the fact that I was still perfectly coherent and shooting for a takedown after two solid knees landed I was still in the fight and up on the score cards. Can’t pay enogh respect to Cat she’s a warrior & I’d love the honor of fighting her in the future again but NOT with Kim Winslow as the ref”

Believe it or not, Kim Winslow didn’t exactly take the implication that she sucks at her job lying down. Despite being unable to specifically comment on the fight, Winslow issued a statement to US Combat Sports explaining her rationale behind her decision to stop fights this week. Via USCS:

“I will tell you what I tell ALL my fighters in the prefight one on ones. If I say ‘fight back’ you are in imminent danger of me stopping your fight and you have to give me a reason not to. If you respond to the command and show that you can intelligently defend yourself I will let it continue whether or not your attempts are successful. It is on you to continue to try until you are out of danger or the round has ended. When you stop attempting to get out of the situation or just go back to what got you warned in the first place it’s your way of letting me know you have had enough and I am coming in to stop it. How much time I give you is always dependent on the amount of damage you are taking. Safety is the first priority and it’s my job to make sure you come back to fight another day if you choose to. ”

Whether or not Tate was “perfectly coherent” after eating those knees from Cat Zingano is debatable. Tate may claim she felt fine – and Kim Winslow certainly has a history of questionable stoppages – but it’s easy to see why this fight was stopped when it was. For what it’s worth, Dana White – who isn’t exactly shy about criticizing incompetent referees after questionable stoppages – thought that the stoppage was fair as well.

Was this fight yet another early stoppage on Kim Winslow’s resume, or did she make the right decision stopping the action when she did?

@SethFalvo

Comments

  1. teep Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 01:48


    I thought the fight was stopped at the right time. I really don't want to see any fighter taking unnecessary damage because they are still awake and in a turtle position - but they are still "defending themselves." If they can't get out of that position, I don't want to see that fighter hit over and over until they are KO'd.
  2. Mr_Misanthropy Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 02:00


    How many licks does it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Roll Tootsie Pop? Let's go ask Mr. Owl.
  3. Shifty-Eyed Dog Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 02:00


    While I think Tate was fine (she WAS going for a takedown and missed, NOT collapsing after the knees), the stoppage is at least understandable, if not necessarily correct. What IS inexcusable is Winslow's earlier fight when she warned Blanco about 10 times not to grab the fence, at least four of those times AFTER she claimed she'd take a point. Blanco LOST that fight.
  4. El Guapo Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 02:11


    Who would you rather; Kimmie Gibler or Kimmie Winslow?
  5. teep Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 02:15


    @ El Guapo - Can I just opt out?
  6. Flynn Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 02:54


    I have reviewed the stoppage, though Tate may of been "coherent", Kim Winslow felt Tate had eaten enough knees, and ended the fight. While Dan Mirgliota would probably waited to see if Tate ended up doing a really bad impression of Kim Couture, or if Tate all of a sudden turned into a come from behind Cheik Kongo or whatever his name is.....Bottom line, Kim Winslow saw enough and wanted to protect Tate from further damage. At the end of the day, it is good to have fighters go home to their loved ones. Just Sayin, Flynn
  7. Alan K Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 03:15


    Shut up, Miesha.
  8. fucka fish Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 03:40


    Ofc Dana agreed with the stoppage, if he talked crap about the stoppage he would invalidate Cat's spot as a TUF coach, and we know where his loyalty lie$
  9. cman Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 04:10


    The real question is should Winslow be a Ref at this point where we even have to debate this with her history of inconsistent, dangerous, and fight altering inabilities?
  10. amsterdamheavy Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 04:19


    What the hell are you talking about? Tate was shooting for a takedown and Winslow called the fucking fight like she got dropped by a blow.
  11. FightZen Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 04:56


    I gotta say... I lose a little more respect for Meisha after every fight. Her whining after the Rousey fight was a real bummer. I get it. You didn't want to lose. But, guess what? You lost. Move on.
  12. Lex Talionis Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 05:57


    Lol Is Meisha on this site now? Who went down the list and gave a thumbs down to every post that says it was a good stoppage and that Tates a whiny bitch
  13. ArmFarmer Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 06:19


    Idk, it was kind of a dumb time to stop it. She had just gotten out of immediate danger when Winslow stepped in. I would consider shooting for a takedown, regardless how sloppy, as fighting back and defending yourself. "If you respond to the command and show that you can intelligently defend yourself I will let it continue whether or not your attempts are successful. It is on you to continue to try until you are out of danger or the round has ended." I mean, isn't that what she did? She got out of the clinch, blocked an elbow, and shot for a takedown.. and then it was stopped because she ate some big knees 5 seconds earlier.
  14. roachtbp Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 07:22


    I honestly thought it was stopped a bit early. I don't think Kate Winslow is a bad ref, but I do think she stopped that fight a bit too soon.
  15. Mir please break Brocks neck Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 09:36


    Meisha was shooting.....and Kim took THAT as a 'drop'. Tate was CLEARLY NEVER knocked out. She was taking shots but she was STILL fighting. Her hands were up....she was defending. Just because someone is taking shots, doesnt mean 'tko'. This is not the first time Kim has stopped a fight prematurely. I TRUELY feel for Meisha as she lost TUF coaching job because of s shitty call. Its really a shame.... Im a Meisha fan for sure. But Im also a Cat fan now too. The only person Im NOT a fan of is Kim. Like 'rocahtbp' said....."I don't think Kate Winslow is a bad ref, but I do think she stopped that fight a bit too soon." And this error booted Meisha out of the spotlight (because of a bad call by Kim).
  16. Mir please break Brocks neck Says:

    Thu, 04/18/13 - 09:38


    Agreed 1000%. Perfectly said!!!!!
  17. knucklesamitch Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 06:02


    Ok, Ok ... Miesha may have been shooting for a takedown, but it was sloppy and failed, and all Winslow did was save Miesha from taking a couple of big shots while she was in the turtle position. Doesn't look like the BEST stoppage, but it was in no way a bad stoppage.
  18. El Famous Burrito Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 08:09


    This sounds a lot like Koscheck after the Lawler fight.
  19. samclark Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 08:12


    Another fighter with no honor. Dear god people, take a loss.
  20. The Fresh One Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 09:00


    Sorry Miesha, it was 4 knees, not 2, and falling over face first is not a TD attempt. If anything, this was Winslows best stoppage.
  21. Mir please break Brocks neck Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 09:28


    She did NOT land on her face at all. Were you watching WWE or cartoons?????? WATCH THE TAPE!!!!!!!!!!!
  22. HugePenisLarry Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 09:49


    This is what happens when there are too many women in the cage. Their periods sync up.
  23. The Fresh One Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 10:39


    Non sequitur much? Best case scenario, it was a desperate attempt to grab any body part, while falling face first, because of taking 4 knees right in the kisser. She was on queer street, the stoppage was correct. TKO.
  24. The Fresh One Says:

    Fri, 04/19/13 - 10:48


    No, it's the guy that loves Mir/hates Brock. He's really into women's sports.
  25. defpqtcw Says:

    Sat, 04/20/13 - 01:32


    like Theresa responded I'm alarmed that anyone can profit $7060 in 4 weeks on the computer. have you read this page ======wow65.Com=====
  26. Homepage Says:

    Sun, 05/19/13 - 08:03


    ... [Trackback]... [...] Informations on that Topic: cagepotato.com/referee-kim-winslow-responds-to-miesha-tates-early-stoppage-complaints/ [...]...
  27. montblanc ????? Says:

    Sun, 11/24/13 - 11:38


    montblanc ?????... Referee Kim Winslow Responds to Miesha Tate's Early Stoppage Complaints | Cagepotato...
  28. mark mania Says:

    Wed, 12/04/13 - 01:50


    Referee Kim Winslow Responds to Miesha Tate... Very good Early morning, I just stopped in to go to your internet site and imagined I would say I liked myself....
  29. Browne vs. Werdum, Tate vs. Carmouche Announced for UFC on FOX 11, April 19th in Orlando | MMA Bookmarks Says:

    Tue, 01/14/14 - 12:19


    [...] losing streak, thanks to her unsuccessful performance against Rousey at UFC 168, which followed her TKO loss to Cat Zingano in April. (Both of those matches won Fight of the Night, by the way.) Meanwhile, Carmouche is coming off a [...]

Post a comment:


You must be logged in to post a comment.


Login





Register




A password will be e-mailed to you.


CagePotatoMMA